# Enterprise AI training data providers and what they supply

> 6 of 12 enterprise AI training data providers whose own websites we read say they source data by licensing it from the companies and rights-holders that own it, read 8 October 2026.

Enterprise Training Data Providers · https://enterprisetrainingdataproviders.com/datasets/custom-data-provider-capabilities/ · computed 2026-10-08

**Providers that license data from its owners:** 6 of 12 providers (14 pages read; 19 named).

## The answers, question by question

- **Main kind of data it supplies:** licensed corpora 5, data marketplace 2, expert or RLHF data 2, varies 1, not stated 1, annotation and labelling 1
- **Modalities it names:** stated 8, not stated 4
- **How it says it sources the data:** licensed rights-holders 6, vetted experts 3, not stated 2, a crowd workforce 1
- **Workforce or network size it states:** not stated 11, stated 1
- **Runs a programme for data owners to supply data:** has a data partner programme 7, not stated 5

## Every provider

| Provider | Main kind of data it supplies | Modalities it names | How it says it sources the data | Workforce or network size it states | Runs a programme for data owners to supply data |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Appen | varies by document | annotation, labeling, and collection for machine learning across text, image, audio… | a crowd workforce | Appen's global network spans 170 countries, includes verified domain specialists across… | not stated |
| Defined.ai | data marketplace | 99,500 hours of meeting recordings in English with video, audio, transcripts, metadata… | not stated | not stated | has a data partner programme |
| Innodata | not stated | not stated | vetted experts | not stated | not stated |
| Mercor | licensed corpora | not stated | licensed rights-holders | not stated | has a data partner programme |
| micro1 | licensed corpora | not stated | licensed rights-holders | not stated | has a data partner programme |
| Nyne | licensed corpora | File contents plus their metadata, authorship, timestamps, and access permissions. | licensed rights-holders | not stated | has a data partner programme |
| Protege | licensed corpora | The Series A extension follows rapid adoption across healthcare, media, audio, motion… | licensed rights-holders | not stated | has a data partner programme |
| Scale AI | annotation and labelling | Supported Annotation Types Scale Text Document Processing Natural Language Processing… | vetted experts | not stated | not stated |
| SimpleClosure AssetHub | data marketplace | That can include connected information across tools like Slack, Google Drive, Email… | licensed rights-holders | not stated | has a data partner programme |
| Snorkel AI | expert or RLHF data | Standard & custom environments Repo + CLI tools Browser/GUI harness Multi-step/stateful… | vetted experts | not stated | not stated |
| Surge AI | expert or RLHF data | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Troveo | licensed corpora | Buyers pay a premium for work they can follow across communication channels, knowledge… | licensed rights-holders | not stated | has a data partner programme |

## The sentence each answer rests on (70)

- Appen, [Appen AI training data services page](https://www.appen.com/ai-data), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "The world's leading AI training data provider, annotation, labeling, and collection for machine learning across text, image, audio, video, and geospatial data."
- Appen, [Appen AI training data services page](https://www.appen.com/ai-data), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: "annotation, labeling, and collection for machine learning across text, image, audio, video, and geospatial data"
- Appen, [Appen AI training data services page](https://www.appen.com/ai-data), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "Appen's global network spans 170 countries, includes verified domain specialists across 50 fields"
- Appen, [Appen AI training data services page](https://www.appen.com/ai-data), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: "Appen's global network spans 170 countries, includes verified domain specialists across 50 fields"
- Appen, [Appen AI training data services page](https://www.appen.com/ai-data), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: No answer on the page, which ran to 4,613 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Appen, [Appen off-the-shelf dataset catalog](https://www.appen.com/off-the-shelf-datasets), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "Off-the-shelf (OTS) AI training datasets are pre-collected, pre-licensed datasets that teams can license and use immediately for model training"
- Appen, [Appen off-the-shelf dataset catalog](https://www.appen.com/off-the-shelf-datasets), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: "597 datasets across nine categories, from reinforcement learning (RL) tasks and verifiers to speech, code, and enterprise data."
- Appen, [Appen off-the-shelf dataset catalog](https://www.appen.com/off-the-shelf-datasets), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "Contributor consent and documented licensing. Perpetual, non-exclusive commercial training rights."
- Appen, [Appen off-the-shelf dataset catalog](https://www.appen.com/off-the-shelf-datasets), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 6,844 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Appen, [Appen off-the-shelf dataset catalog](https://www.appen.com/off-the-shelf-datasets), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: No answer on the page, which ran to 6,844 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Defined.ai, [Defined.ai dataset marketplace](https://defined.ai/datasets), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "Showing 10 of 819 datasets"
- Defined.ai, [Defined.ai dataset marketplace](https://defined.ai/datasets), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: "99,500 hours of meeting recordings in English with video, audio, transcripts, metadata, action items, and recaps across industries."
- Defined.ai, [Defined.ai dataset marketplace](https://defined.ai/datasets), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: No answer on the page, which ran to 3,418 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Defined.ai, [Defined.ai dataset marketplace](https://defined.ai/datasets), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 3,418 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Defined.ai, [Defined.ai dataset marketplace](https://defined.ai/datasets), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: "Partnerships Data Partner AI Service Supplier"
- Innodata, [Innodata home page](https://www.innodata.com/), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: No answer on the page, which ran to 1,593 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Innodata, [Innodata home page](https://www.innodata.com/), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: No answer on the page, which ran to 1,593 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Innodata, [Innodata home page](https://www.innodata.com/), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "providing the data, evaluation frameworks, and human expertise required to build AI systems that can be trusted at scale"
- Innodata, [Innodata home page](https://www.innodata.com/), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 1,593 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Innodata, [Innodata home page](https://www.innodata.com/), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: No answer on the page, which ran to 1,593 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Mercor, [Mercor Data page](https://mercor.com/data), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "The data your business generates every day is exactly what frontier labs need. We license it, package it, and pay you for it."
- Mercor, [Mercor Data page](https://mercor.com/data), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: No answer on the page, which ran to 4,081 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Mercor, [Mercor Data page](https://mercor.com/data), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "The data your business generates every day is exactly what frontier labs need. We license it, package it, and pay you for it."
- Mercor, [Mercor Data page](https://mercor.com/data), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 4,081 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Mercor, [Mercor Data page](https://mercor.com/data), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: "The data your business generates every day is exactly what frontier labs need. We license it, package it, and pay you for it."
- micro1, [micro1 company referral page](https://www.micro1.ai/company-referral), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "Operational data partnership using existing business documentation and operational datasets."
- micro1, [micro1 company referral page](https://www.micro1.ai/company-referral), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: No answer on the page, which ran to 4,561 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- micro1, [micro1 company referral page](https://www.micro1.ai/company-referral), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "Operational data partnership using existing business documentation and operational datasets."
- micro1, [micro1 company referral page](https://www.micro1.ai/company-referral), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 4,561 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- micro1, [micro1 company referral page](https://www.micro1.ai/company-referral), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: "The company completes onboarding and is approved as an active partner in micro1's Data Partnerships program."
- Nyne, [Nyne data partnerships page](https://nyne.ai/data-partnerships), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "We partner with you to license your company's data."
- Nyne, [Nyne data partnerships page](https://nyne.ai/data-partnerships), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: "File contents plus their metadata, authorship, timestamps, and access permissions."
- Nyne, [Nyne data partnerships page](https://nyne.ai/data-partnerships), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "We partner with you to license your company's data."
- Nyne, [Nyne data partnerships page](https://nyne.ai/data-partnerships), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 3,973 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Nyne, [Nyne data partnerships page](https://nyne.ai/data-partnerships), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: "Nyne turns your de-identified operational workflows into frontier-grade training data, under your governance and on your terms."
- Protege, [Protege home page](https://withprotege.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "Protege streamlines access to private and proprietary real-world data across domains."
- Protege, [Protege home page](https://withprotege.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: "The Series A extension follows rapid adoption across healthcare, media, audio, motion capture, and more"
- Protege, [Protege home page](https://withprotege.ai/), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "Monetize your existing data assets or content with Protege — while maintaining clear rights protections and provenance."
- Protege, [Protege home page](https://withprotege.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 4,197 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Protege, [Protege home page](https://withprotege.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: "Monetize your existing data assets or content with Protege — while maintaining clear rights protections and provenance."
- Protege, [Protege for data providers page](https://withprotege.ai/data-provider), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: No answer on the page, which ran to 1,626 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Protege, [Protege for data providers page](https://withprotege.ai/data-provider), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: "Protege works with data and content providers across domains. Select an industry below to learn more."
- Protege, [Protege for data providers page](https://withprotege.ai/data-provider), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "Unlock New Revenue Through Data Licensing for AI"
- Protege, [Protege for data providers page](https://withprotege.ai/data-provider), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 1,626 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Protege, [Protege for data providers page](https://withprotege.ai/data-provider), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: "Protege works with data and content providers across domains. Select an industry below to learn more."
- Scale AI, [Scale Data Engine page](https://scale.com/data-engine), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "Collect, Curate, and annotate data. Train models and evaluate. Repeat."
- Scale AI, [Scale Data Engine page](https://scale.com/data-engine), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: "Supported Annotation Types Scale Text Document Processing Natural Language Processing Transcription Content & Language Scale Image"
- Scale AI, [Scale Data Engine page](https://scale.com/data-engine), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "Scale can provide the core tenet of any dataset with high-quality labels from domain experts."
- Scale AI, [Scale Data Engine page](https://scale.com/data-engine), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 3,423 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Scale AI, [Scale Data Engine page](https://scale.com/data-engine), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: No answer on the page, which ran to 3,423 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- SimpleClosure AssetHub, [AssetHub product page](https://simpleclosure.com/product/asset-hub/), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "AssetHub connects qualifying assets with vetted buyers, including AI labs, model developers, and other companies looking to license or acquire real-world code."
- SimpleClosure AssetHub, [AssetHub product page](https://simpleclosure.com/product/asset-hub/), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: "That can include connected information across tools like Slack, Google Drive, Email, Notion, Figma, and more"
- SimpleClosure AssetHub, [AssetHub product page](https://simpleclosure.com/product/asset-hub/), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "AssetHub helps assess, package, and connect SourceCode and WorkspaceData with AI buyers so founders can generate value through sale or licensing opportunities."
- SimpleClosure AssetHub, [AssetHub product page](https://simpleclosure.com/product/asset-hub/), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 6,730 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- SimpleClosure AssetHub, [AssetHub product page](https://simpleclosure.com/product/asset-hub/), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: "AssetHub helps startups monetize their assets, like SourceCode or WorkspaceData to vetted AI buyers looking for real-world work product."
- Snorkel AI, [Snorkel AI home page](https://snorkel.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "Snorkel helps frontier labs and AI teams develop specialized training data and environments that set their models and agents apart."
- Snorkel AI, [Snorkel AI home page](https://snorkel.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: "Standard & custom environments Repo + CLI tools Browser/GUI harness Multi-step/stateful workflows Simulated environments"
- Snorkel AI, [Snorkel AI home page](https://snorkel.ai/), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "Well-specified expert-level tasks"
- Snorkel AI, [Snorkel AI home page](https://snorkel.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 18,397 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Snorkel AI, [Snorkel AI home page](https://snorkel.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: No answer on the page, which ran to 18,397 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Surge AI, [Surge AI home page](https://www.surgehq.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "New Frontier data and RL environments, off the shelf"
- Surge AI, [Surge AI home page](https://www.surgehq.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: No answer on the page, which ran to 949 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Surge AI, [Surge AI home page](https://www.surgehq.ai/), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: No answer on the page, which ran to 949 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Surge AI, [Surge AI home page](https://www.surgehq.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 949 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Surge AI, [Surge AI home page](https://www.surgehq.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: No answer on the page, which ran to 949 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Troveo, [Troveo business data page](https://www.troveo.ai/business-data), read 2026-10-08, Main kind of data it supplies: "AI labs want to learn from companies like yours. Troveo matches you with them, anonymizes your data to a documented standard, and licenses it on terms you approve"
- Troveo, [Troveo business data page](https://www.troveo.ai/business-data), read 2026-10-08, Modalities it names: "Buyers pay a premium for work they can follow across communication channels, knowledge and code repositories, and operational tools."
- Troveo, [Troveo business data page](https://www.troveo.ai/business-data), read 2026-10-08, How it says it sources the data: "Thousands of companies trust Troveo to license their data, protect their rights, and pay them on time."
- Troveo, [Troveo business data page](https://www.troveo.ai/business-data), read 2026-10-08, Workforce or network size it states: No answer on the page, which ran to 4,973 characters when read on 2026-10-08.
- Troveo, [Troveo business data page](https://www.troveo.ai/business-data), read 2026-10-08, Runs a programme for data owners to supply data: "Thousands of companies trust Troveo to license their data, protect their rights, and pay them on time."

## Read and set aside

- [scale.com: Agentic Solutions for Enterprise \| Scale AI](https://scale.com/enterprise): Scale's enterprise page is about building and deploying agentic AI systems for companies, not about supplying training data
- [openai.com: OpenAI Data Partnerships \| OpenAI](https://openai.com/index/data-partnerships/): OpenAI's data partnerships announcement is an AI lab asking for data, not a provider supplying it
- [welocalize.com: Welocalize \| Translation & Localization for Global Businesses](https://www.welocalize.com/): Welocalize's home page is about translation and localisation services; it says nothing about supplying AI training data

## Methodology

Each provider's own own websites were read through estate-fetch and stored whole (sha256 on every row). For every page, five questions were answered from its own words: main kind of data it supplies, modalities it names, how it says it sources the data, workforce or network size it states, runs a programme for data owners to supply data. Every stated answer carries the sentence it rests on, checked against the stored text; 'not stated' means the page read does not address the question. A provider with several pages reads 'varies' where they disagree. 12 providers, 14 pages.

## Sources

- [scale.com: Scale Data Engine \| AI Training Data at Scale \| Scale AI](https://scale.com/data-engine) (read)
- [scale.com: Agentic Solutions for Enterprise \| Scale AI](https://scale.com/enterprise) (not-terms)
- [surgehq.ai: Surge AI \| Human Intelligence for AGI](https://www.surgehq.ai/) (read)
- [appen.com: AI Training Data Services \| Appen](https://www.appen.com/ai-data) (read)
- [appen.com: AI training datasets: off-the-shelf data catalog \| Appen](https://www.appen.com/off-the-shelf-datasets) (read)
- [defined.ai: Data Marketplace for AI Training Datasets \| Defined.ai](https://defined.ai/datasets) (read)
- [withprotege.ai: Home - Protege](https://withprotege.ai/) (read)
- [withprotege.ai: For Data Providers - Protege](https://withprotege.ai/data-provider) (read)
- [snorkel.ai: Expert data development for frontier AI \| Snorkel AI](https://snorkel.ai/) (read)
- [mercor.com: Mercor Data \| Enterprise Workflow Data for Frontier AI](https://mercor.com/data) (read)
- [micro1.ai: Refer a company to micro1, earn $50,000](https://www.micro1.ai/company-referral) (read)
- [innodata.com: Train and Deploy Industry‑Leading Generative and Traditional AI - Innodata](https://www.innodata.com/) (read)
- [nyne.ai: Data partnerships \| Nyne.ai](https://nyne.ai/data-partnerships) (read)
- [troveo.ai: Turn Your Company Data Into Revenue \| Troveo](https://www.troveo.ai/business-data) (read)
- [datavendor.ai: DataVendor \| Monetize your data supply](https://datavendor.ai/) (unread)
- [simpleclosure.com: Sell Your Startup Assets \| SimpleClosure AssetHub](https://simpleclosure.com/product/asset-hub/) (read)
- [openai.com: OpenAI Data Partnerships \| OpenAI](https://openai.com/index/data-partnerships/) (not-terms)
- [welocalize.com: Welocalize \| Translation & Localization for Global Businesses](https://www.welocalize.com/) (not-terms)
- [the universe, rule 1](https://datarade.ai/data-categories/ai-training-data) (unread)

## Cite or embed

- 6 of 12 enterprise AI training data providers whose own websites we read say they source data by licensing it from the companies and rights-holders that own it, read 8 October 2026.
- Main kind of data it supplies, by provider: licensed corpora 5 of 12, expert or RLHF data 2 of 12, data marketplace 2 of 12, annotation and labelling 1 of 12, not stated 1 of 12, varies 1 of 12 (12 providers, read 8 October 2026).
- Modalities it names, by provider: stated 8 of 12, not stated 4 of 12 (12 providers, read 8 October 2026).
- How it says it sources the data, by provider: licensed rights-holders 6 of 12, vetted experts 3 of 12, not stated 2 of 12, a crowd workforce 1 of 12 (12 providers, read 8 October 2026).
- Workforce or network size it states, by provider: not stated 11 of 12, stated 1 of 12 (12 providers, read 8 October 2026).
- Runs a programme for data owners to supply data, by provider: has a data partner programme 7 of 12, not stated 5 of 12 (12 providers, read 8 October 2026).

Cite as: "Enterprise AI training data providers and what they supply", updated 2026-10-08, https://enterprisetrainingdataproviders.com/datasets/custom-data-provider-capabilities/.

CSV: https://enterprisetrainingdataproviders.com/datasets/custom-data-provider-capabilities.csv
JSON: https://enterprisetrainingdataproviders.com/datasets/custom-data-provider-capabilities.json
Embed (plain HTML, static link back): see https://enterprisetrainingdataproviders.com/datasets/custom-data-provider-capabilities/#lead
